Unlimited AE and Premiere Pro templates, videos & more! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. 3D & Motion Graphics
  2. ZBrush

Erstellen Sie ein 3D-Mikroroboter-Insekt in ZBrush

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

Diese Woche hat sich Cgtuts+ mit unserer Schwesterseite Psdtuts+ zusammengetan, um Ihnen dieses erstaunliche zweiteilige, ausführliche Tutorial von Nacho Riesco zu bringen. In diesem Tutorial werden wir ein mikrobionisches Insekt mit chemischen Kriegszwecken unter Verwendung einfacher Modellierungstechniken für harte Oberflächen mit dem Clipping Brush, Masking und vielem mehr formen. Gehen Sie zu Psdtuts+, um den Abschluss dieses Projekts zu erhalten, in dem wir unsere Renderpässe aus Zbrush zusammensetzen und das endgültige Bild in Photoshop erstellen!


Tutorial Assets

Die folgenden Elemente wurden bei der Erstellung dieses Lernprogramms verwendet.


Schritt 1

Beginnen wir mit einem Sphere3D, konvertieren Sie es in PolyMesh3D und gehen Sie zur Deformations-Unterpalette in der Werkzeugpalette. Wenden Sie die folgenden Einstellungen auf den Größenregler an.


Schritt 2

Fügen Sie dem Netz zwei weitere Unterteilungen hinzu (Strg + D), um eine glattere Oberfläche zu erhalten. Wählen Sie nun den Clip-Kurvenpinsel und drücken Sie Strg + Umschalt. Schneiden Sie die Kugel wie gezeigt ein. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie im richtigen Winkel arbeiten, um die Symmetrie auf der X-Achse beizubehalten.


Schritt 3

Wenden Sie nun eine weitere Verformung auf das Netz an, diesmal auf dem Schieberegler "Verjüngen". Verwenden Sie die folgenden Einstellungen.


Schritt 4

Wählen Sie erneut den Clip-Kurvenpinsel und machen Sie weitere Schnitte. Lassen Sie die X-Achsen-Symmetrie aktiviert, um unsere Arbeit gleichzeitig auf beide Seiten anzuwenden. Glätten Sie die Kanten ein wenig mit dem Glättungspinsel, um gezackte Kanten zu vermeiden.


Schritt 5

Zur Detaillierung der Oberfläche verwenden wir topologische Masken, wobei die Modi Verschieben, Drehen oder Größe aktiviert bleiben. Wenn Sie die Strg-Taste gedrückt halten, können Sie eine Maske anwenden, die der Maschentopologie folgt. Erstellen Sie bei aktivierter X-Symmetrie eine Maske wie gezeigt (oder mit der gewünschten Form). Entfernen Sie nun die unerwünschten maskierten Bereiche mit dem Maskenkurvenpinsel.


Schritt 6

Gehen Sie nun zur Unterpalette Verformung und wenden Sie mit dem Schieberegler Größe mit den folgenden Einstellungen eine Verformung auf den nicht maskierten Bereich an. Durch Aktivieren verschiedener Achsen können Sie unterschiedliche Ergebnisse erzielen. Auch mit dem Regler "Aufblasen" können Sie anstelle des Reglers "Größe" unterschiedliche Effekte erzielen.


Schritt 7

Hier haben wir das letzte Stück nach dem Aufbringen verschiedener Masken und Verformungen.


Schritt 8

Fügen Sie eine neue Kugel hinzu, platzieren Sie sie unter der ersten und wiederholen Sie die vorherigen Schritte, um die Maskenpositionen und Verformungen zu ändern. Jetzt haben wir den fertigen Kopf, der aus zwei Unterwerkzeugen besteht, "Oberer Kopf" und "Unterer Kopf".


Schritt 9

Folgen wir mit dem Körper. Dafür werden wir wieder eine Sphere3D verwenden, sie in PolyMesh3D konvertieren und sie dreimal teilen (Strg + D). Um die richtige Form zu erhalten, rufen Sie die Unterpalette Verformung auf und wenden Sie die folgenden Einstellungen auf den Schieberegler Größe an.


Schritt 10

Beginnen Sie mit dem Formen des Netzes mit topologischen Masken, wie wir es zuvor getan haben, bevor Sie dieselbe Technik anwenden. Wenden Sie zunächst die folgenden Einstellungen auf den Schieberegler Größe an. Dieses Mal werden wir einen zusätzlichen Schritt hinzufügen, um schärfere Kanten zu erhalten. Aktivieren Sie dazu den Verschiebemodus und halten Sie die Umschalttaste gedrückt. Verschieben Sie den nicht maskierten Bereich wie gezeigt.


Schritt 11

Verwenden Sie anschließend die vorherige Technik, indem Sie topologische Masken, Verformungen und Bewegungen anwenden, um die verschiedenen Formen und Fasen zu erhalten.


Schritt 12

Hängen Sie nun den Körper als neues Unterwerkzeug "Körper" an und platzieren Sie ihn mit den Modi "Verschieben" und "Drehen".


Schritt 13

Um die richtige Form des Körpers zu erhalten, muss er gebogen werden, um dies zu erreichen. Gehen Sie zuerst zur Deformation-Unterpalette und wenden Sie eine SBend-Deformation mit den folgenden Einstellungen an. Befolgen Sie anschließend mithilfe von Masken und der Transponierungslinie im Rotationsmodus das Biegen des Körpers. Denken Sie daran, die Maske vor dem Mischen zu verwischen, um ein gleichmäßigeres Ergebnis zu erzielen.


Schritt 14

In diesem Schritt werden wir die hinteren Vorsprünge formen. Zunächst müssen die Körperteile isoliert werden, die wir nicht modifizieren möchten. Maskieren Sie also erneut mit topologischen Masken den Teil des Körpers, den Sie formen möchten, gehen Sie dann zur Unterpalette Sichtbarkeit und drücken Sie HidePT, um das unerwünschte Netz auszublenden. Maskieren Sie nun die Hälfte des Netzes und formen Sie den Vorsprung mit dem Bewegungspinsel. Wiederholen Sie diesen Vorgang mit allen.


Schritt 15

Fügen Sie weitere Formen hinzu, indem Sie einige Teile mit dem Clip-Kurvenpinsel entfernen. Verwenden Sie an den Vorsprüngen den Pinch Brush, um in einigen Bereichen schärfere Kanten zu erzielen.


Schritt 16

Folgen Sie dem Hinzufügen weiterer Unterwerkzeuge zum Kopf. Zwei weitere Kugeln eignen sich gut zur Überwachung der Augen.


Schritt 17

Jetzt beginnen wir mit den Beinen und Antennen. Verwenden Sie zum Erstellen einen Zylinder3D, konvertieren Sie ihn in Polymesh und wenden Sie eine Größenverformung mit den folgenden Einstellungen an (wiederholen Sie den Wert 100 dreimal). Glätten Sie anschließend eines der Enden, um es zu schärfen. Machen Sie eine Maske am anderen Ende und wenden Sie eine Größenverformung wie gezeigt an.


Schritt 18

Fügen Sie das zuvor erstellte Stück hinzu und duplizieren Sie das Segment so oft, bis Sie die richtige Länge erhalten. Verwenden Sie die Transponierungslinie, um jedes Segment zu verschieben und zu drehen.


Schritt 19

Verwenden Sie das Transpose Master Plugin, um alle Segmente zusammenzuführen. Achten Sie jedoch zuvor darauf, die Sichtbarkeit der Unterwerkzeuge zu deaktivieren, die Sie nicht zusammenführen möchten. Wir haben also nur ein Unterwerkzeug. Duplizieren Sie es und gehen Sie zur Deformation-Unterpalette, um es auf der X-Achse zu spiegeln.


Schritt 20

Verwenden Sie anschließend die gleiche Technik wie im vorherigen Schritt, indem Sie die Beine und Antennen am ganzen Körper und am Kopf erstellen. Wenn Sie mit der Komposition zufrieden sind, führen Sie alle Elemente erneut mit Transpose Master zusammen.


Schritt 21

Als nächstes werden wir die Flügel formen. Beginnen wir mit Zspheres, um das Skelett zu erstellen. Wenn Sie die richtige Form haben, müssen Sie es in Polymesh konvertieren. Gehen Sie dazu zur Unterpalette Adaptive Skin, klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche Adaptive Skin erstellen und hängen Sie das neue Netz an das an Körper, und positionieren Sie es mit der Transponierungslinie.


Schritt 22

Um die Membranen zu formen, werden wir eine neue Topologie erstellen. Zuerst benötigen wir eine Zsphere, gehen dann zur Rigging-Unterpalette und klicken auf die Schaltfläche Netz auswählen und wählen Sie das zuvor erstellte Skelettnetz aus. Um mit dem Erstellen der neuen Topologie zu beginnen, rufen Sie die Unterpalette Topologie auf und klicken Sie auf Topologie bearbeiten.


Schritt 23

Aktivieren Sie den Zeichenmodus und fügen Sie Netzpunkte hinzu. Um während des Vorgangs einen Punkt auszuwählen, drücken Sie die Umschalttaste und wählen Sie den gewünschten Punkt aus. Um einen Punkt zu verschieben, wechseln Sie in den Verschiebemodus und verschieben Sie ihn. Folgen Sie, bis Sie die gewünschte Netzform haben. Sie können das Netz vorab visualisieren, indem Sie auf die Schaltfläche Vorschau klicken oder die Taste A drücken.


Schritt 24

Wenn das neue Netz in Ordnung aussieht, konvertieren Sie es mithilfe der Schaltfläche "Adaptive Skin erstellen" in der Unterpalette "Adaptive Skin" in ein Polymesh. Jetzt kann es als neues SubWerkzeug angehängt, platziert und mit dem Verschieben-Pinsel ein wenig geformt werden. Wenn es fertig ist, duplizieren und spiegeln Sie es.


Schritt 25

Erstellen Sie mit der gleichen Technik wie zuvor die kleinen Flügel.


Schritt 26

Verwenden Sie dieselbe Retopologietechnik, um die kleinen Spoiler zu erstellen. Aber dieses Mal werden wir den Körper als Netz wählen, um unsere neue Topologie aufzubauen.


Schritt 27

Fügen Sie es erneut hinzu, duplizieren Sie es und spiegeln Sie es. Führen Sie es für jedes Mal zweimal aus.


Schritt 28

Jetzt werden wir die leichten Tentakel formen, eine Z-Kugel anhängen und weitere zeichnen, bis Sie die gewünschte Form erhalten. Erstellen Sie ein neues Netz, indem Sie auf die Schaltfläche Make Adaptative Skin klicken und es an den Körper anhängen. Formen Sie es jetzt mit den Pinseln Verschieben und Glätten. Fügen Sie das Detail am Ende mit dem Standardpinsel mit Alpha Nr. 34 mit dem DragRect-Strich hinzu.


Schritt 29

Dupliziere das Tentakel und platziere das neue mit der Transponierungslinie. Formen Sie es mit dem Bewegungspinsel etwas mehr, um es vom anderen zu unterscheiden.


Schritt 30

Jetzt ist es Zeit für ein paar lustige Details mit Alphas. Lassen Sie uns sie selbst erstellen. Als Beispiel werden wir eine Niete erstellen. Ziehen Sie eine Sphere3D, konvertieren Sie sie in ein Polymesh und wenden Sie eine topologische Maske an, wobei ein kleiner Kreis in der Mitte verbleibt. Wechseln Sie zur Unterpalette "Verformung" und verringern Sie die Größe der nicht maskierten Oberfläche. Wenn Sie die gewünschte Oberfläche für den Niet haben, gehen Sie zur Alpha-Palette und drücken Sie die GrabDoc-Taste. Wir haben jetzt das Alpha einsatzbereit. Wir werden es mit dem Standardpinsel, DragDot-Strich und Zsub mit einer Intensitätseinstellung von 50 verwenden.


Schritt 31

Mit der im vorherigen Schritt gezeigten Technik können wir verschiedene Alphas erstellen und das Modell weiter detaillieren. Hier ist das Endergebnis.


Schritt 32

Wir haben jetzt das Modell bereit, polypainted zu werden. Wir beginnen mit der Maskierung von Bereichen, um Farben zu unterscheiden, malen die Masken mit der zuvor gesehenen topologischen Technik oder malen sie bei Bedarf manuell. Wenn die Maske fertig ist, gehen Sie zur Farbpalette und klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche FillObject. Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie sich zuerst im Zeichenmodus befinden, um sie richtig zu füllen.


Schritt 33

Lassen Sie uns der Oberfläche weitere Tiefe hinzufügen, zur Unterpalette "Maskierung" gehen und eine Hohlraummaske mit den angezeigten Einstellungen anwenden. Kehren Sie es um und füllen Sie die nicht maskierte Oberfläche mit einer schwarzen Farbe und einer Intensität von 15.


Schritt 34

Folgen Sie der gleichen Technik mit den übrigen Unterwerkzeugen, maskieren und malen Sie sie mit verschiedenen Tönen und Materialien. Hier haben wir das Endergebnis. Später werden wir auf die Materialeinstellungen achten.


Schritt 35

Jetzt werden wir der Oberfläche Details hinzufügen, indem wir einige Farbkratzer hinzufügen. Wählen Sie den TrymDinamic-Pinsel mit der Alpha-Nummer 58, deaktivieren Sie den Zadd- und den Zsub-Modus und aktivieren Sie den RGB-Modus. Verwenden Sie eine weiße Farbe und passen Sie die Intensität an. Malen Sie einige Striche auf die Oberfläche, um den Verschleiß zu imitieren. Sie können auch dunklere Farben verwenden, um den letzten Schliff zu vervollständigen.


Schritt 36

Als nächstes optimieren wir die Materialien. Für die Farbteile von Körper und Kopf verwenden wir das Grundmaterial 2 mit den gezeigten Einstellungen Diffus, Ambient und Specular. Wir werden auch eine Surface Bump-Textur hinzufügen. Importieren Sie ein Texturbild als Alpha und wählen Sie es im Surface Bump Picker aus. Stellen Sie nun die Steuerelemente Canvas Bump und Canvas Bump Scale wie gezeigt ein.


Schritt 37

Ein weiteres Material, das wir verwenden und optimieren werden, ist Toy Plastic. Dieses Mal werden wir die Hohlräume einfärben. Wir werden dieses Material für alle Flügelmembranen verwenden, zu den Materialmodifikatoren von Toy Plastic gehen und die Steuerelemente Cavity Intensity und Cavity Colorize wie gezeigt einstellen. Lassen Sie den Cavity Color Modifier schwarz. Der Effekt wird nur mit dem besten Render sichtbar.


Schritt 38

Jetzt werden wir die Kapsel hinzufügen, eine Sphere 3D als neues SubWerkzeug anhängen, sie platzieren und skalieren, bis sie das gesamte Modell bedeckt. Überprüfen Sie, ob die leichten Tentakel auf der Rückseite heraus sind. Ich habe es vorgezogen, sie so zu lassen, weil die Kapsel wäre zu groß, und nach dem endgültigen Rendern sehen sie aus, als wären sie drinnen.


Schritt 39

Für die Kapsel verwenden wir das Reflection Map-Material, wie wir es bereits für den Körper verwendet haben. Daher muss es dupliziert werden. Kopieren Sie das Reflection Map-Material und fügen Sie es über einem anderen Material ein, das nicht verwendet wird. Als nächstes ändern wir in den Materialmodifikatoren das Bild der Materialtexturauswahl. Ich habe in Photoshop ein Bild mit Rauchpinseln erstellt und es zuerst als Textur in die Texturpalette importiert. Stellen Sie es auf diesen Picker und stellen Sie den sphärischen Schieberegler auf 100 ein. Aktivieren Sie im SubWerkzeug-Menü das Transparenzsymbol, gehen Sie zur Render-Palette, aktivieren Sie die Schaltfläche Transparenz und passen Sie die Steuerelemente wie gezeigt an. Klicken Sie auf die Schaltfläche BPR, um die Ergebnisse zu überprüfen.


Schritt 40

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt haben wir bis auf die Beleuchtung alles für das endgültige Rendern bereit. Ich fügte zwei weiße Sonnenlichter hinzu und platzierte und passte sie wie gezeigt an. Um das endgültige Rendering zu erhalten, müssen zwei erstellt werden. Zunächst ein Best Render für die Effekte, die wir auf die Materialien erzeugt haben. Und zweitens ein BPR-Renderer. Schauen Sie sich die von mir verwendete BPR-Konfiguration an und vergessen Sie nicht, zuerst die Schaltfläche "Karten erstellen" zu aktivieren, um die verschiedenen Karten zu erhalten, die wir im Photoshop-Postprozess verwenden werden.


Schritt 41

Für die endgültige Komposition in Photoshop muss das Modell mit und ohne Kapsel gerendert werden. Hier habe ich alle Pässe, die ich gespeichert habe, um sie zu verwenden. Ich habe auch ein Flat-Rendering hinzugefügt, um verschiedene Teile des Modells zu isolieren, was für die Bearbeitung in Photoshop nützlich ist.


Schritt 42

Schließlich werden wir zwei zusätzliche Lichter rendern, die in Photoshop erstellt werden sollen. Zuerst schaffen wir das Licht, das aus den Tentakeln kommt. Dazu platzieren wir über das Menü Platzierung in der Lichtpalette jeweils zwei Punktlichter (klicken Sie einfach auf die Schaltfläche P und ziehen Sie den Cursor über das Tentakel, um das Licht darauf zu platzieren.) Befolgen Sie die angezeigten Lichteinstellungen und rendern Sie das Modell. Erstens mit dem besten Render und zweitens mit dem BPR-Render und exportieren Sie das endgültige Bild.


Endgültiges Bild

Hier haben wir den endgültigen Render. Sie können die besten Rendereffekte auf dem Flügelmaterial und die Rauchstruktur auf dem transparenten Material sehen. Ich hoffe, dieses Tutorial war nützlich und hat Ihnen geholfen, einen neuen Prozess in Zbrush zu entdecken.


Schauen Sie sich den Abschluss dieses Tutorials auf Psdtuts+ an


Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
ZBrush

Create a 3D Micro Robotic Insect in ZBrush

by

This week, Cgtuts+ has teamed up with our sister site Psdtuts+ to bring you this amazing two part, in-depth tutorial from Nacho Riesco. In this tutorial we are going to sculpt a Micro Bionic Insect with chemical war purposes using simple hard-surface modelling techniques with the Clipping Brush, Masking and much more. Head over to Psdtuts+ for the conclusion of this project where we'll composite our render passes from Zbrush, and create the final image in Photoshop!


Tutorial Assets

The following assets were used during the production of this tutorial.


Step 1

Let's get started with a Sphere3D, convert it to PolyMesh3D and go to the Deformation Subpalette in the Tool Palette, apply the following settings on the Size slider.


Step 2

Add two more divisions to the mesh (Ctrl + D) to get a smoother surface, now pick the Clip Curve Brush and pressing Ctrl + Shift, make some cuts to the sphere as shown. Be sure that you are working on the right angle, to keep the symmetry on the X axis.


Step 3

Now apply another deformation to the mesh, this time on the Taper slider, use the following settings.


Step 4

Pick again the Clip Curve Brush and continue making more cuts, keep the X axis Symmetry activated to apply our work to both sides at same time. Smooth the edges a bit with the Smooth Brush to avoid jagged edges.


Step 5

For detailing the surface we are going to use Topological Masks, keeping activated the Move, Rotate or Size Modes. Holding the Ctrl key, you can apply a mask following the mesh topology. So, with the X Symmetry activated, make a mask as shown (or with the shape you like). Now remove the unwanted masked areas using the Mask Curve Brush.


Step 6

Now go to the Deformation subpalette and apply a deformation to the unmasked area using the Size slider with the following settings. By activating different axises you can get different results, also by using the Inflate slider, instead of the Size slider, you can also achieve different effects.


Step 7

Here we have the final piece after applying different masks and deformations.


Step 8

Append a new Sphere, place it under the first one and repeat the previous steps modifying the mask locations and deformations, now we have the finished head composed of two Subtools, "Upper head" and "Lower head".


Step 9

Let's follow with the body. For it, we will start using a Sphere3D again, convert it to PolyMesh3D and sudivide it (Ctrl + D) three times. To get the right shape, go to the Deformation subpalette and apply the following settings to the Size slider.


Step 10

Start sculpting the mesh using Topological Masks as we have done before using the same technique. To begin, apply the following settings to the Size slider. This time we will add an extra step to get sharper edges. To achieve it, activate the Move Mode, and holding the Shift key, move the unmasked area as shown.


Step 11

Using the previous technique, follow by applying Topological Masks, deformation and movements to get the different shapes and bevels.


Step 12

Now append the body as a new Subtool, "Body", and place it using the Move and Rotate Modes.


Step 13

To get the right shape of the body it will be necessary to bend it, so to achieve this. First go to the Deformation subpalette and apply a SBend deformation with the following settings. Next, using masks and the Transpose Line in Rotate Mode, follow along bending the body, remember to Blur the mask before blending it to get a smoother result.


Step 14

In this step we are going to sculpt the back protrusions, first of all, it will be necessary to isolate the parts of the body which we don't want to modify. So, again using Topological Masks, mask the part of the body you want to sculpt, then go to the Visibility subpalette and hit HidePT to hide the unwanted mesh. Now mask half of the mesh and use the Move Brush to sculpt the protrusion, repeat this process with all of them.


Step 15

Add more shapes by removing some parts using the Clip Curve Brush. On the protrusions use the Pinch Brush to get sharper edges in some areas.


Step 16

Follow along adding more subtools to the head, two more spheres will work well as monitoring eyes.


Step 17

Now we will start with the legs and antennas. To create them, use a Cylinder3D, convert it to Polymesh and apply a Size deformation with the following settings (repeat the value of 100 three times). Next, smooth one of the ends to sharpen it. Make a mask on the other end and apply a Size deformation as shown.


Step 18

Append the piece we created before, and Duplicate the segment the necessary amount of times untillyou get the right length. Use the Transpose line to Move and Rotate each segment.


Step 19

Using the Transpose Master Plugin to merge all segments, but before, take care to turn off the visibility of the subtools that you don't want to merge. So we will have only one subtool, Duplicate it and go to the Deformation subpalette to mirror it on the X axis.


Step 20

Using same technique as in the previous step, follow by creating the legs and antennas all over the body and head. When you are happy with the composition, merge all together using Transpose Master again.


Step 21

Next we will sculpt the wings. Let's start with Zspheres to create the skeleton, when you have the right shape, you will need to convert it to Polymesh, to do that, go to the Adaptative Skin subpalette and press the Make Adaptative Skin button, then append the new mesh to the body, and position it using the Transpose line.


Step 22

To sculpt the membranes, we are going to create a new topology. First we will need a Zsphere, then go to the Rigging subpalette and press the Select Mesh button and select the skeleton mesh we created before. Now to start creating the new topology, go to the Topology subpalette and press Edit Topology.


Step 23

Activate the Draw mode and start adding mesh points. To choose a point during the process, press the Shift key and select the desired point. To move a point, change to Move mode and relocate it. Follow until you have the desired mesh form, you can pre-visualize the mesh by pressing the Preview button or by hitting the A key.


Step 24

When the new mesh looks OK, convert it to a Polymesh using the Make Adaptative Skin button in the Adaptative Skin subpalette. Now it's ready to be appended as a new Subtool, place it and sculpt it a bit using the Move brush, when it's ready, duplicate and mirror it.


Step 25

Using same technique as before, create the small wings.


Step 26

To create the little spoilers, use the same retopology technique. But this time we will chose the body as the mesh to build our new topology.


Step 27

Again append it, then duplicate and mirror it, do it twice for each one.


Step 28

Now we will sculpt the light tentacles, append a Zsphere and draw some more until you get the desired form. Make a new mesh by pressing the Make Adaptative Skin button and append it to the body. Now sculpt it using the Move and Smooth brushes, add the detail at the end with the Standard Brush using Alpha no.34 with the DragRect stroke..


Step 29

Duplicate the tentacle and place the new one using the Transpose line, sculpt it a bit more with the Move Brush to differentiate it from the other.


Step 30

Now it's time for some fun detailing with Alphas, let's create them ourselves, as example we are going to create a rivet. Drag a Sphere3D, convert it to a Polymesh and apply a topological mask leaving a small circle in the middle. Go to the Deformation subpalette and decrease the size of unmasked surface. When you have the surface you want for the rivet, go to the Alpha palette and press the GrabDoc button. We now have the Alpha ready to be used. We will use it with the Standard Brush, DragDot stroke, and Zsub with an intensity setting of 50.


Step 31

With the technique shown in the previous step, we can create different Alphas and continue detailing the model, here is the final result.


Step 32

We now have the model ready to be polypainted. We will start masking areas to differentiate colors, paint the masks using the topological technique we saw earlier, or by painted them manually when necessary. When the mask is ready, go to the Color Palette and hit the FillObject button, pay attention to be on Draw Mode first to fill it properly.


Step 33

Let's continue adding some depth to the surface, go to the Masking Subpalette and apply a Cavity Mask with the shown settings. Inverse it and fill the unmasked surface with a black color and an intensity of 15.


Step 34

Follow same technique with the rest of the subtools, masking and painting them with different tones and materials. Here we have the final result. Later we will pay attention to the materials settings.


Step 35

Now we will add detail to the surface by adding some paint scratches. Pick the TrymDinamic Brush with Alpha number 58, disable the Zadd and Zsub Modes, and also turn on the Rgb mode. Use a white color and adjusting it's intensity, paint some strokes on the surface to imitate wear, you can also use darker colors to complete the finishing touches.


Step 36

Next let's tweak the materials. For the color parts of the body and head, we will use Basic Material 2, with the shown settings of Diffuse, Ambient and Specular. We will also add a Surface Bump texture. Import a texture image as an Alpha and select it in the Surface Bump picker, now set the Canvas Bump and Canvas Bump Scale controls as shown.


Step 37

Another material we'll use and tweak is Toy Plastic. This time we will colorize it's cavities. We'll use this material on all the wings membranes, go to the Toy Plastic's material modifiers and set the Cavity Intensity and Cavity Colorize controls as shown, leave the Cavity Color Modifier at a black color. The effect just will be visible using the Best Render.


Step 38

Now we will add the capsule, append a Sphere 3D as a new Subtool, place and scale it until it covers the entire model, check that the light tentacles on the back are out, I preferred to leave them like that because the capsule would be too big, and after in the final render, they look like they are inside.


Step 39

For the capsule we will use the Reflection Map material, as we already used on the body, so it will be necessary duplicate it. Copy the Reflection Map material and paste it over another material, that isn't in use. Next in the material modifiers, we will change the image of the Material Texture picker. I created a image with smoke brushes in Photoshop, import it as a texture in the Texture palette first. And place it on that picker, adjust the Spherical slider to 100. In the Subtool menu, turn on the transparency icon, then go to the Render Palette and turn on the Transparency button and adjust it's controls as shown, hit the BPR button to check the results.


Step 40

At this point we have everything ready for the final render, except for the lighting. I added two white Sun Lights, and placed and adjusted as shown. To get the final render it will be necessary to make two. First, a Best Render, for the effects we created on the materials. And second, a BPR Render. Check out the BPR config I used and don't forget to activate the Create Maps button first, to get the different maps which we will use in the Photoshop post process.


Step 41

For the final composition in Photoshop it will be necessary to render the model with and without the capsule. Here I have all the passes I saved to be used. I also added a Flat render to isolate different parts of the model, which will be useful for the manipulation in Photoshop.


Step 42

Finally, we will render two extra lights to be composed in Photoshop. First we'll create the light that comes out from the tentacles. For it, we will place two Point Lights on each one using the Placement menu in the Light Palette (just click on the P button and drag the cursor over the tentacle to place the light on it.) Follow the shown light settings and render the model. First with the Best Render and second with the BPR Render, and export the final image.


Final Image

Here we have the final render, you can see the Best Render effects on the wing material and the smoke texture on the transparent material. I hope this tutorial has been useful and helped you to discover a new process in Zbrush.


Check out the conclusion of this tutorial over on Psdtuts+


Related Posts
  • Design & Illustration
    Text Effects
    Create a 3D Ice Text Effect With Modo and Photoshop0938 frost tutsplus 002 frsot 400
    While Photoshop allows us to do many things, often, the final outcome we are looking for just can't be accomplished using Photoshop alone. One of the best things about Photoshop, however, is that it almost always has a role in modern design workflows, especially in 3D. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a 3D ice text effect using Modo to sculpt the 3D models and Photoshop for texturing and post-production. Let's get started!Read More…
  • 3D & Motion Graphics
    Maya
    Create a Realistic Shark in Maya using Subdivision Surfaces: Part 1Maya shark pt1 nretina
    With the recent wrap up of our Realistic Shark in 3D Studio Max series, we're happy to launch a follow up project for our Maya users. Soni Kumari has created a second, more detailed version of the tutorial. Where she'll once again guide readers through the process of Modeling, UVMapping, Texturing, Rigging and Rendering a believable and lifelike shark, this time using Maya's exceptional toolset.Read More…
  • 3D & Motion Graphics
    ZBrush
    A Thorough Introduction to ZBrush's FiberMeshFibermesh tutorial preview 400x400
    One of the most powerful additions to ZBrush in recent memory, FiberMesh builds on a growing list of amazing features, and adds the ability to create realistic hair, fur, and other fiber based meshes directly within ZBrush with an unprecedented amount of control. That level of control comes at a price though, and you'll be faced with numerous settings, sliders and curves when you fire it up for the first time. So where do you start, and how do you know which settings to manipulate to achieve the results you're after?Read More…
  • 3D & Motion Graphics
    ZBrush
    Create a Stylized Strawberry Character with ZBrush and KeyshotZbrush strawberry retina2
    In this tutorial you'll learn how to sculpt a stylized strawberry character from scratch using ZBrush and how to render with Keyshot. Topics include modeling with Shadowbox, using radial symmetry to sculpt and position objects, working with subtools, posing with the Transpose tool, retopologizing meshes with Qremesher, as well as working with various brush types and masking techniques in ZBrush. You'll then learn how to export the completed character to Keyshot, and bring him to life with textures and materials.Read More…
  • 3D & Motion Graphics
    News
    Read a Sample Chapter from 3DTotal's "The Swordmaster"3dtotal swordmaster retina
    We're teaming up with the fine folks over at 3DTotal to give you a peak at a sample chapter from their latest ZBrush and 3D Studio Max book The Swordmaster. As a bonus, use promo code cgtuts25 at checkout and get 25% off any purchase from the 3DTotal Shop until August 31st!Read More…
  • 3D & Motion Graphics
    ZBrush
    Creating a Character Portrait in ZBrush, the Making of "Hammerhead"Hammer head 400px
    In this Making Of tutorial, Nacho Riesco will guide you through the workflow he used to create his awesome Hammerhead character portrait, which was recently chosen by 3DArtist Mag as Image of the week and part of a larger collection featured on the Character Designed Served website. Throughout this tutorial, Nacho will discuss his sculpting and rendering techniques in ZBrush, and explain how to correctly render out various passes from ZBrush, such as Ambient Occlusion, Z-Depth, Shadow and Specular using various materials and lighting configurations, before moving into Photoshop for final compositing and post work.Read More…