Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. 3D & Motion Graphics
  2. Production
Cgi

طريقة بسيطة لتصوير فيديو HDR باستخدام الفانوس السحري الدورة التعليمية

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by ansgaradh (you can also view the original English article)

سنناقش اليوم احتمالات تصوير فيديو HDR باستخدام Canon DSLR (في حالتي ، Rebel T2i / 550D) مقترنة ببرنامج ثابت مخصص بواسطة Magic Lantern. سنبدأ في تصوير مقطع الفيديو الخاص بك ، والتحدث عن كيفية الجمع بين المقاطع ، وأخيرًا كيفية التلوين الصحيح للحصول على نتيجة أفضل.



تصوير فيديو HDR

الآن ، لقد سمعت بالفعل عن HDR ( نطاق ديناميكي مرتفع ) ، في حالة الصور في جميع أنحاء الإنترنت ، ولكن ماذا عن العمل مع لقطات HDR؟ إنه ليس ممكنًا فقط ، ولكنه سهل نسبيًا أيضًا. كل ما تحتاجه هو الكاميرا التي تقبل البرامج الثابتة ماجيك فانوس وقال البرامج الثابتة.

فكيف يعمل؟ الفانوس السحري (ML from here on) هو برنامج ثابت مخصص يتيح لك مزيدًا من التحكم في كاميرا كانون DSLR ، مع ميزات مثل ACG (التحكم التلقائي في الكسب) وقفل المغلاق وتجاوز FPS والتحكم في معدل البت ومخططات الحمار الوحشي وتركيز الفخ .. لذكر حفنة. فيديو HDR هو أيضا من بين الميزات ، وهذا ما سنركز عليه في هذه المقالة.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن Magic Lantern هو برنامج مخصص مخصص ، تتحمل المسؤولية الكاملة عن التثبيت ، وواحد قد * قد يؤدي إلى تحريك الكاميرا ، ولكن على حد علمي ، لم يتم الإبلاغ عن أي حادث واحد حتى الآن. أنا أوصي به بحرارة لجميع يبحث عن مزيد من السيطرة على الفيديو / الصورة على EOS الخاص بك.

قبل أن نبدأ ، هناك بعض العوامل التي يجب وضعها في الاعتبار قبل اتخاذ قرار بالتقاط HDR.

  1. لن يعمل فيديو HDR مع إجراء سريع الحركة. تقوم هذه العملية بشكل أساسي بإطلاق قيمتين ISO بشكل سريع ، مما يؤدي إلى تحف المشاهد حتى بالحركة البينية ، مما يعني فعليًا أنك تستخدمه بشكل أساسي على لقطات ثابتة أو بطيئة الحركة مع إجراء قليل إلى لا شيء.
  2. كن حذرا مع الأقواس ISO الخاص بك. باستخدام شريحة أعلى ، على سبيل المثال لن تبدو 100/3200 جيدة كما قد تعتقد ، لأن ارتفاع ISO يعني المزيد من الضوضاء. عند تأليف الصور ، ستحصل على جزء واحد سلس والآخر سيكون له بتات صاخبة. سوف تبدو قبيحة ... صدقني

حسنًا ، بافتراض أنك حملت ML ، دعنا ننتقل إلى إعداد الكاميرا لتصوير HDR. للدخول إلى قائمة ML ، ابدأ تشغيل الكاميرا في وضع VIDEO ، واتركها ، واضغط على زر سلة إعادة التدوير. هذا ينبغي أن تظهر القائمة ... التي اعترف ، تبدو فظيعة.

لحسن الحظ ، لا يتعلق الأمر بالتصميم ، بل يتعلق بالوظائف. استخدم أزرار الاتجاه للتنقل ، " تعيين " للتغيير ، و " تشغيل " لتغييره. انتقل إلى "الفيلم" وابحث عن " فيديو HDR " في الأسفل. إذا لم يكن موجودًا ، فذلك لأنك إما قمت بتثبيت إصدار قديم من ML ، أو نسيت أن تقوم بتعيين ML إلى " الوضع المتقدم ". انتقل إلى " مساعدة " ، ثم اضغط على " القائمة " في أعلى خيار.

يجب أن تفتح المزيد من الاحتمالات. انقر على " فيديو HDR " مرة واحدة لترى ما يفعله. إنها تضع الأيزو بناءً على ما اخترته بالفعل خارج ML. اعتمادا على حالة الإضاءة الخاصة بك وهذا يختلف ، ولكن أوصي وضع ISO الأولي إلى 100 ، وقوس تصل إلى 800.

تذكر ، إذا بدت قيمة ISO 100 منخفضة ، يمكنك تغيير f-stop و Shutter. بالاعتماد على العدسة ، يمكن أن تصل نقطة التوقف f إلى 1.2 (مع فقدان عمق التركيز) وسوف ينخفض ​​المصراع إلى 60 بغض النظر.

حسنًا ، يجب تعيين الكاميرا لتصوير فيديو HDR ، لكن انتظر! إذا كنت قد مضت بالفعل ونقرت على السجل ، فقد لا يكون صحيحًا بعد. نظرية قليلة بالنسبة لك:

مع ما نفعله اليوم ، سيعمل مقطع الفيديو بتقنية HDR على ضبط قيمتين لـ ISO ، لذا سيؤدي التصوير عند 1080p24 إلى تدفقين بسرعة 12 إطارًا في الثانية ، أليس كذلك؟ حقا! هذا يعني أن النتيجة النهائية ستكون 12 إطارًا في الثانية.

لإيقاف تشغيله ... كلما قل عدد الإطارات في الثانية ، كلما زاد عدد القطع الأثرية الظاهرة.  لماذا ا؟  لأنه من الواضح أن الكاميرا لا تستطيع تصوير اثنين من التعرضات في وقت واحد ، لذلك يحاول أن يعمل بسرعة كافية ، ولكن 24fps ليست كافية.

لإصلاحها ، سيكون عليك التصوير بمعدل 60 إطارًا في الثانية ، مما يؤدي إلى تقليل الدقة إلى 720 بكسل. هل هو مهم حقا؟ لا ليس بالفعل كذلك. 720 بكسل عادة ما يكون أكثر من كاف ، وفقط المتعصبين المتشددين والمدققون سيشاهدون الفرق بالفعل على شاشة كمبيوتر 24 بوصة. إذا كنت تعرض هذا على تلفزيون عالي الدقة مقاس 50 بوصة ، فيمكن أن يمثل ذلك مشكلة.

لكن لا تمانع في ذلك. يتم الاعتناء بـ "نظرية / الرياضيات" الآن. أنت تعرف كيف يعمل إلى درجة معينة الآن ، لذلك الخروج من هناك وبدء تصوير HDR الفيديو!


تقسيم المجاري والالتحاق بها مرة أخرى

ربما لاحظت على الأرجح أن الفيديو لم يكتمل في الكاميرا. لقد تركت مع نوبة صرع غريبة المظهر تترك حتى الناس ذوي العقلية القوية مجنونين قليلاً. إذا تمكنت الكاميرا من إكمال العمل نيابةً عنك ، فمن المحتمل ألا تقرأ هذه المقالة.

لنبدأ بإطلاق AE وسحب اللقطات الخاصة بك إلى شركات جديدة. قم بتكرار اللقطات الخاصة بك مرة واحدة (Ctrl / Cmd-D). الآن ، إزاحة الطبقة السفلية بقص الإطار الأول

ثم انقل الطبقة السفلى إلى الإطار الأول من الشركات. الآن ، خذ كلاً من الطبقات والوقت لتمديدها إلى قيمة 50٪ (انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن فوق / Cmd-Click-> Time-> Time Stretch )

أنت تخبر AE بإظهار الفيديو بسرعة مضاعفة ، مما يلغي فعليًا كل إطار آخر. نظرًا لأنك قمت بإزاحة الطبقة السفلية بإطار واحد فقط ، فقد أصبح لدينا الآن مقطعان من اللقطات اللطيفة ، مثلما يتم تصويره بقيم ISO الخاصة بكل ما تقوم بتعيينه.

هل انتهينا بعد؟ ليس تماماً ، لكننا نصل إلى هناك. لقد حان الوقت لإخراج هذه التدفقات من بعضها البعض ، والتأكد من أنها جاهزة للتعاملمعها باستخدام Photomatix . للقيام بذلك ، نحن بحاجة إلى اتخاذ بعض الاحتياطات.
دعونا منفردا الطبقة العليا.

ثم سنقوم بإضافة شركاتنا إلى Render Queue. تأكد من أننا نقدم إلى تسلسل * .jpg ، ومع ذلك ، دعنا نلقي نظرة على اسم التسلسل.

نظرًا لأن Photomatix لن يقبل تسلسلات الصور مع أرقام الإطارات في الخلف ، نحتاج إلى جعل أسماء ملفاتنا معروفة لـ Photomatix. إنه حل بسيط. بدلاً من الاتصال بهم "MVI_XXXX_ [XXXX] .jpg" ، سوف نقلبها ونجعلها "[XXXX] _MVI_XXXX.jpg". ومع ذلك ، نظرًا لأننا سنقوم بعرض مسارين ، فإننا نحتاج إلى فصلها بأسماء أيضًا. لذلك ، قم بتسمية الملفات "[XXXX] _LIGHT_MVI_XXXX.jpg" و "[XXXX] _DARK_MVI_XXXX" ، من الواضح أنها تطابق اللقطات التي قدمتها. تأكد من وضع تسلسلات الصور في نفس المجلد.

عندما تنتهي من ذلك ، يكون لديك تسلسلين للصورة ، غير منظمين وقبيحين للغاية ... ولكنهما سيعملان مع Photomatix ، وهو ما نريده.

الآن حان الوقت لفتح Photomatix. في الشاشة الأولية ، انقر فوق " تحميل الصور الموضوعة بين قوسين " ، وحدد الإطار الأول لكل من تسلسلات الصور (Frame 0000 لكل من LIGHT و DARK). لماذا نفتح صورة واحدة فقط عندما نتمكن من تشغيل العملية بأكملها ، هل تسأل؟ حسنًا ، لضمان حصولنا على النتيجة الدقيقة التي نريدها ، سنضطر إلى اللعب مع بعض الإعدادات أولاً. إذا كنت قد استخدمت Photomatix من قبل لإنشاء صور HDR ، فأنت تعرف ما يجب فعله. جوهر ذلك هو تحديد التباعد EV وفقا لإعدادات ISO الخاص بك. ISO 100 إلى 400 ، تعني 4 و 0 ، على التوالي ، و ISO 100 و 200 ، تعني 2 و 0 ، وهكذا. ومن الواضح أن هذا يتم في النافذة الأولى بعد اختيار ملفات لقطات الخاص بك. اضغط على OK ، ثم انقر على OK (موافق) التالي ، ودعنا ننتقل إلى الخطوة التالية.

الحق الآن سيتم تقديمك عن طريق صورة متوسطة غير جذابة. لا تقلق بشأن ذلك ، لم ننته بعد!

اضغط على أسماء الأزرار " Tone Mapping / Fusion " ليتم تضمينها في جزء التعديل وستظهر لك صورة محسّنة بشكل كبير.

حدد " Tone Mapping " كعملية اختيار وتعيين التجانس حسب الذوق. عادةً ما سيبدو "متوسط ​​إلى أقصى" أفضل ، ولكن العب معه والإعدادات أدناه. يمكنك أيضًا اختيار إعداد مسبق في أسفل النافذة إن شئت ، لكن دعنا لا نفعل ذلك الآن. العثور على بعض الإعدادات التي تروق لذوقك. في أسفل الإعدادات المسبقة ، حدد " حفظ الإعدادات " في القائمة المنسدلة. يطلق عليه "HDR الفيديو" أو شيء من هذا القبيل ، ودعونا الخروج من البرنامج.

لقد قمت الآن بحفظ إعداد مسبق يمكن تطبيقه على كافة الإطارات لإنشاء عملية أسهل وخط أنابيب محسّن.

أطلق النار على Photomatix مرة أخرى ، ولكن هذه المرة ، دعونا نضغط على " Batch Bracketed Photos ".

في نافذة الحوار ، حدد المجلد الذي قمت بحفظ جميع الصور إليه وتأكد من ضبطه على تحديد _2_ صور في كل مرة. في إعدادات خريطة النغمة ، اختر الإعداد المسبق المحفوظة حديثًا في القائمة المنسدلة.

تأكد من تعيين الوجهة إلى مجلد مختلف وحفظ النتيجة النهائية مثل TIFF 16 بت ثم اضغط على " تشغيل ".

اعتمادا على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك وطول اللقطات الخاصة بك ، قد يستغرق هذا بعض الوقت. تمامًا مثل التقديم في AE ، سيستغرق 60 إطارًا في الثانية أكثر من ضعف الوقت الذي يستغرقه عرض 24 إطارًا في الثانية.

بمجرد الانتهاء من ذلك ، يمكنك إلقاء نظرة على دفق HDR انضم حديثا والقفز من أجل الفرح. لا تتردد في أخذ استراحة الآن ، لكننا ما زلنا لم ننتهي بعد.


تصحيح الألوان باستخدام لون Finesse Pro 

حسنا ، هذا هو المكان الذي يبدأ فيه المرح ... الجزء الذي يأتي فيه فرحة تصوير HDR.
قم بالتنزيل لأعلى After Effects مرة أخرى وقم باستيراد تسلسل HDR EXR (يجب أن يتم إنشاء واحد إلى جانب تسلسل TIFF). إسقاطه إلى تكوين جديد وضرب معاينة RAM للنظر في الأمر كما هو. يجب أن يبدو ذلك ، وفقًا للإعداد المسبق الخاص بك ، كما لو كنت تفكر تمامًا مثل لقطات HDR المسطحة. أقول مستوية لأنه على الرغم من أنه HDR بالتعريف ، فإنه ليس الهدف الرئيسي من هذه المقالة.

نظرية قليلة مرة أخرى:

السبب في تصوير HDR فكرة جيدة ، هو الحصول على ذلك بالضبط. نطاق ديناميكي مرتفع.

بدلاً من تعيين ISO إلى 100 للحصول على صور واضحة في ضوء الشمس الساطع ، أو التصوير في ISO 800 للحصول على تفاصيل باللقطات الداكنة ، يمكنك الحصول على أفضل ما في العالمين دون أي تنازلات. عند التصوير في ISO 800 ، غالبًا ما تفقد التفاصيل في السماء ، مما يؤدي إلى تصوير اللقطات حيث تكون السماء بيضاء جدًا بينما تبدو بقية الصورة جيدة. على الجانب الآخر ، إذا كان التصوير في ISO 100 للحصول على السماء تبدو جيدة ، والباقي هو عادة مظلمة للغاية ، مما يعني أنه عليك أن تحاول التعويض عن طريق اللعب مع المستويات والمنحنيات. يمكن أن يتم ذلك ، ولكن شخصياً ، عادةً ما أختتم عملية استبدال السماء. من المؤكد أن تقنية HDR لا تعمل مع لقطات سريعة الخطى ، ولكن بالنسبة إلى لقطات فيستا الثابتة نسبيًا ، يمكن أن تكون جميلة بشكل رائع للنظر إليها.

حسنًا ، لقد قمت باستيراد تسلسل EXR الخاص بك. الآن جعل شركات جديدة منه ، واذا نظرت جيدا ... قبيحة! إذا وضعنا جانباً ، لا تمارس النتيجة التي نأملها ، ولكن بفضل EXR ، فإن كل المعلومات مخفية داخل الصورة بالفعل. ما نحتاج إلى القيام به هو تطبيق مكون / تأثير أنيق يسمى " Color Finesse Pro ". إنه مخفي في " Effects-> Synthetic Aperture " ، في حالة عدم استخدام وظيفة تأثيرات البحث.

يتم تحميل المكون الإضافي بسرعة ، وسيتم تحييدك من خلال القائمة البسيطة مباشرة في نافذة التأثيرات حيث يوجد تصحيح ألوان ثلاثي مع خيارات متعددة. إذا كنت ترغب فقط في تغيير الألوان واللعب مع منحنيات ، فلا بأس بذلك. سنرغب في القيام بأكثر من ذلك بقليل ، لذلك دعونا نضغط على الزر الموجود أعلى " واجهة كاملة ".

الآن ، لا تشعر بالخوف من الألوان والرسومات والخطوط والمنحنيات المزخرفة ... كل المعلومات الهامة جدًا التي ستحتاجها في وقت ما.  لكن في هذه المرة ، لن ننظر إليها جميعًا ، لذا سنلتزم بشكل أساسي بالـ "Luma WFM". سنكون أيضا ننظر في Histograms قليلا أيضا.  إذا نظرنا حولنا ، فإنه يخرج قليلاً ومُعقِّدًا ، ولكن بمجرد أن تتعطل الأمور ، فهذا ليس صحيحًا. إنه طبيعي وسهل الاستخدام.

إذا نظرنا حولنا ، فإنه يخرج قليلاً ومُعقِّدًا ، ولكن بمجرد أن تتعطل الأمور ، فهذا ليس صحيحًا.

أولاً ، سنقوم بتجاهل الأجزاء العليا هنا للانتقال إلى القائمة السفلية اليسرى وضرب "المستويات ".   هنا ، سنسحب شريط التمرير " الإبرازات الاحتياطية" إلى 100 . لاحظ كيف يتم الآن إعادة إنتاج الأجزاء المنفوخة من اللقطات بالكامل؟ هذا ما كنت أتحدث عنه عند ذكر أن المعلومات لا تزال موجودة. فجأة ، قدمنا ​​صورة أفضل بكثير ، وصورة تسمح بتصحيح الألوان أفضل بكثير من الصورة السابقة. هذا هو أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي نستخدمها Color Finesse Pro بدلاً من أدوات AE المدمجة.

 مع العناية ، حان الوقت للنقر على Luma WFM في أعلى القائمة اليسرى لتمكين شكل الموجة. يبدو خياليًا ، ولكن كل ما يفعله هو إظهار الألوان الموجودة في أجزاء الصورة. كلما قلت ، كلما اقتربنا من الأسود ، والعكس صحيح. الآن ، إذا كانت بعض الألوان تنخفض أكثر من 100 أو أقل من 100 ، فهذا يعني أنها ستعرض على أنها بياض فائقة أو أسود فائق. بالمختصر؛ لن يكون لديهم أي تفاصيل على الإطلاق ، بغض النظر عن ما يشاهدونك المشاهد. إذا كانت اللقطات لديك أقل أو أقل من هذه اللقطات ، فستضطر إلى اللعب بمستويات. يؤدي إخراج / إخراج المستوى إلى نتائج مختلفة ، ولكن بشكل أساسي ، يحد المخرج من المساحة بينما يقوم الإدخال بنشر المستويات داخل مساحة اللون / الإضاءة المخصصة.

يمكن أن يساعدك شريط التمرير الاسترداد المميز في الحصول على التفاصيل من whites الخارجة في ملف EXR. أعطه شريحة إلى أقصى حد لمعرفة الفرق. تجدر الإشارة أيضًا إلى أن عملية الاسترداد لن تعمل في جميع الحالات ، وفي بعض الحالات ستفعل ذلك أيضًا عند تعديل مستوى الإنتاج.

حسنًا ، سنعمل على تعديل مستويات الإنتاج حتى لا تتساقط الضوء / اللون الأسود في الجزء العلوي أو السفلي. في حالتي اضطررت لتحريك شريط التمرير إلى حد بعيد ، ولكن إليك شكل موجة Luma لمساعدتك على فهم أفضل.

لاحظ كيف أن لا شيء يتجاوز 100 ، ولا شيء ينخفض ​​إلى ما دون الصفر؟ هذا يعني أنه ليس لدينا مناطق تحت أو معرّضة أكثر من اللازم في لقطات الفيديو الخاصة بنا. وهذا يعني بشكل أساسي أنه يتم بثه بأمان ، وأن لدينا تفاصيل أكثر تفصيلاً مما كنا عليه قبل تصوير HDR. الآن ، إذا كنت تريد إغلاق Color Finesse Pro الآن وتطبيق تعديلات مثل المنحنيات ، سيكون لديك الكثير لتستمر فيه. بدلاً من القيام بذلك ، سوف نستخدم المنحنيات المدمجة في Color Finesse. تذكر أين وجدنا المستويات؟ ... المنحنيات في نفس المكان.

تكون المنحنيات متماثلة تمامًا كما هو الحال في AE ، ولكن جميع المنحنيات الثلاثة موجودة في نافذة واحدة. يمكنك ضبطها تلقائيًا باستخدام عينات الألوان في الجزء السفلي. فهي سوداء ، ورمادية ، وأبيض ، ويمكنك ضبط المنحنيات تلقائيًا بشكل صحيح لقطتك. الآن ، هذا لم يساعدني أبداً في تحقيق النتيجة التي أريدها ، لذا في الوقت الحالي ، أغلق الواجهة ، ودعنا ندخل إلى الواجهة المبسطة الموجودة في نافذة البرنامج المساعد داخل AE.

تتيح لك النافذة المبسطة القيام بالكثير من نفس الأشياء مثل الواجهة الكاملة ، وهي موطن لواحد من ميزاتي المفضلة. هوى تعويض . مع ذلك ، يمكنك صبغ الصورة بالكامل (الرئيسية) ، والظلال ، والمنتصفات ، والإبرازات بشكل فردي. وهذا يعني أنك إذا أردت فلترًا كلاسيكيًا شبيهاً بالأفلام ، يمكنك صبغ الظلال نحو اللون الأزرق ، ويبرز اللون الأصفر.

حسنًا ، لقد بدأنا للتو في عالم تصحيح الألوان المتقدم هنا ، وهذا هو المكان الذي سنختتم فيه. إذا كنت مهتمًا بإجراء تصحيح أكثر تقدمًا للألوان ، فإنني أقترح بشدة استخدام Color Finesse Pro ، المرفق مع AE.

حسنًا ، هذا كل شيء الآن! آمل أن تكون قد تعلمت شيئًا هنا ، وأتطلع إلى رؤية نتائجك ، واستمتع!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

A Simple Way To Shoot HDR Video Footage Using Magic Lantern

by

Today we'll be discussing the possibilities of shooting HDR video using a Canon DSLR (In my case, a Rebel T2i/550D) paired with a custom firmware made by Magic Lantern. We'll start with how to shoot your video, talk about how to combine the clips and finally how to color correct to get a better result.


Tutorial


Shooting HDR Video

Now, you've already heard about HDR (High Dynamic Range), in the case of images all over the internet, but how about working with HDR footage? It's not only possible, but also relatively easy to do. All you need is a camera that accepts the Magic Lantern firmware and said firmware.

So, how does it work? Magic Lantern (ML from here on) is a custom firmware that allows you more control over your Canon DSLR, with features such as ACG (Automatic Gain Control), Shutter lock, FPS override, bit rate control, zebra stripes and trap focus... to mention a handful. HDR Video is also among the features, and it's what we'll be focusing on in this article.

It should be noted that Magic Lantern is a CUSTOM FIRMWARE, that you take full responsibility for installing, and one that *might* brick your camera, but as far as I know, there's not been reported a single incident thus far. I heartily recommend it to all looking for more control over video/photo on your EOS.

Before we begin, there's a few factors to take into consideration before deciding to shoot HDR.

  1. HDR video will NOT work with fast-paced action. The process is basically shooting two ISO values rapidly, resulting in ghosting artifacts by even minor motion, effectively meaning you should use it mainly on static or slowly moving shots with little-to-no action.
  2. Be careful with your ISO brackets. Using a higher bracket, for instance 100/3200 won't look as good as you may think, since higher a ISO means more noise. When composing the images, you'll get one smooth part and the other will have really noisy bits. It'll look ugly... Believe me.

Okay, assuming you've got ML loaded up, let's move on to setting up your camera to shoot HDR. To enter the ML menu, start your camera in VIDEO mode, let it boot, and hit the recycling bin button. This should bring up the menu... which admittedly, looks awful.

Luckily, it's not about design, it's about functionality. Use the directional buttons to navigate, 'set' to change up, and 'play' to change down. Navigate to 'Movie', and look for 'HDR video' at the bottom. If it's not there, it's because you either installed an older version of ML, or you forgot to set ML to "Advanced Mode". Go to "Help", and press 'menu' on the top choice.

It should open up a few more possibilities. Click on 'HDR video' once to see what it does. It brackets the ISO based on what you've already selected outside ML. Depending on your lighting situation this varies, but I recommend setting the initial ISO to 100, and bracket up to 800.

Remember, if an ISO value of 100 seems to low, you can change the f-stop and Shutter. Depending on your lens, the f-stop could go as low as 1.2 (with a loss of focus depth) and the shutter will go down to 60 regardless.

Okay, so your camera should be set to shoot HDR video, but wait! If you already went ahead and clicked record, it might not be right yet. A little theory for you:

With what we're doing today, HDR video willoverlap two ISO values, so shooting at 1080p24 will result in two 12fps streams, right? Right! This means that your final result will actually be 12fps.

To top it off... the less frames per second, the more ghosting artifacts there'll be. Why? Because the camera obviously can't shoot at two exposures simultaneously, so it tries it best to work fast enough, but 24fps really isn't enough.

To fix it, you will have to shoot in 60fps, compromising resolution down to 720p. Does it really matter? No, not really. 720p is usually more than enough, and only hardcore geeks and nitpickers will really see the difference on a 24" PC monitor. If you're showing this on a 50"+ HDTV, however, It could be a problem.

But never mind that. The "theory/math" bit is taken care of now. You know how it works to a certain degree now, so get out there and start shooting HDR Video!


Splitting the Streams and Joining Them Again

By now you've probably noticed that the video isn't completed in camera. You're left with a weird-looking epileptic attack that leaves even the strong-minded people slightly insane. If the camera could complete the work for you, you probably wouldn't be reading this article.

Let's begin by firing up AE and dragging your footage into a new comp. Duplicate your footage once (Ctrl/Cmd-D). Now, offset the bottom layer by trimming the first frame

Then move the bottom layer back to the first frame of the comp. Now, take both layers and time stretch them to a value of 50% (Right-click/Cmd-click->Time->Time Stretch)

You're telling AE to show the video at twice the speed, effectively eliminating every other frame. Since you offset the bottom layer by just one frame, we're now left with two streams of nice-looking footage, as shot with ISO values of whatever it is you set it to be.

Are we done yet? Not quite, but we're getting there. It's time to render these streams out separated, and make sure they're ready to be handled by Photomatix. To do this, we need to take some precautions.
Let's solo the top layer.

Then we'll add our comp to the Render Queue. Make sure we render to a *.jpg sequence, and with that done, let's take a look at the sequence name.

Since Photomatix won't accept image sequences with the frame numbers at the back, we need to make our file names recognizable to Photomatix. It's a simple fix. Instead of calling them "MVI_XXXX_[XXXX].jpg", we'll just flip it, and make it "[XXXX]_MVI_XXXX.jpg". However, since we're gonna render two streams, we need to make them separated in names as well. So name the files "[XXXX]_LIGHT_MVI_XXXX.jpg" and "[XXXX]_DARK_MVI_XXXX", obviously matching your rendered footage. Make sure you put both image sequences in the same folder.

When you're done rendering you've got two image sequences, very disorganized and ugly... but they'll work with Photomatix, which is what we want.

Now it's time to open up Photomatix. At the initial screen, click on "Load bracketed photos", and select the first frame of both your image sequences (Frame 0000 of both LIGHT and DARK). Why are we opening just a single image when we can batch process the entire sequence, you ask? Well, to ensure we get the exact result we want, we're going to have to play around with some settings first. If you've used Photomatix before to make HDR images, you know what to do. The gist of it is to specify the E.V. Spacing according to your ISO settings. ISO 100 to 400, means 4 and 0, respectively, and ISO 100 and 200, means 2 and 0, and so on. This is obviously done at the first window after selecting your footage files. Hit OK, hit the next OK, and let's move on to the next step.

Right about now you'll be presented by an unattractive intermediate image. Don't worry about it, we're not done yet!

Hit the button names "Tone Mapping / Fusion" to be taken into the editing bit and you'll be presented with a vastly improved image.

Select "Tone Mapping" as the process of choice and set the smoothing according to taste. Mid to Max will usually look best, but play around with it and the settings below. You can also choose a preset on the bottom of the window if you like, but let's not right now. Find some settings that appeal to your taste. Down at the presets, select 'Save settings' in the dropdown menu. Call it "HDR Video" or something similar and let's exit the program.

You've now saved a preset that can be applied to all the frames creating an easier process and an improved pipeline.

Fire up Photomatix again, but this time, let's click on "Batch Bracketed Photos".

In the dialog window, select the folder you saved all the images to and make sure it's set to select _2_ images at a time. In the Tone Map settings, choose your freshly saved preset in the dropdown menu.

Make sure to set the destination to a different folder and save final result as 16-bit TIFF then hit "Run".

Depending on your computer and the length of your footage, this may take some time. Just like Rendering in AE, 60fps will take more than double the time than it would to render 24fps.

Once it's done, you can look at your newly joined HDR stream and jump for joy. Feel free to take a break now, but we're still not quite done.


Color Correction Using Color Finesse Pro

Okay, this is where the fun begins... the part where the joy of shooting HDR really comes into play.
Load up After Effects again and import the HDR EXR sequence (One should've been created alongside the TIFF-sequence). Drop it into a new composition and hit RAM preview to look at it as-is. It should, depending on your preset, look exactly like you'd think... like flat HDR footage. I say flat because even though it's HDR by definition, it's not the main purpose of this article.

A little theory again:

The reason shooting HDR is a good idea, is to get exactly that; a High Dynamic Range.

Instead of setting the ISO to 100 to get crisp looking images in bright sunlight, or shooting in ISO 800 to fetch details in darker shots, you get the best of both worlds without compromise. When shooting at ISO 800, you often lose detail in skies resulting in blown out footage where the sky is super-white while the rest of the image looks good. On the flip side, if shooting at ISO 100 to get the sky looking good, the rest is usually too dark,\ which means you'll have to try and compensate by playing with levels and curves. It can be done, but personally, I usually wind up having to do sky replacement. Granted, HDR doesn't work with fast-paced footage, but for those relatively static vista shots, it can be downright beautiful to look at.

Alright, you've imported your EXR-sequence. Now make a new comp from it, and behold the look that is well... ugly! Kidding aside, it doesn't wield the result we're hoping for, but thanks to EXR, all the information is hidden inside the image already. What we need to do is apply a neat plugin/effect called "Color Finesse Pro". It's hidden in 'Effects->Synthetic Aperture', in case you're not using the effects search function.

The plug-in loads fast, and you'll be greeted by the simple menu right in the effects window where you've got a 3-way color correction with several options. If you only want to shift colors around and play with curves, that's fine and dandy. We're going to want to do a little more than that, so lets hit the button on the very top that says "Full Interface".

Now, don't become frightened by the fancy colors, graphs, lines and curves... it's all very important information that you're going to need at some point in time. This time around, however, we won't be looking at them all so we'll stick mainly to the one called "Luma WFM". We'll also be peeking into Histograms a bit, too. Looking around, it comes off a bit frightening and complicated, but once you get the hang of things, it's really not. It's natural and easy to use.

Looking around, it comes off a bit frightening and complicated, but once you get the hang of things, it's really not.

First, we're gonna ignore the top parts here to head over to the bottom left menu and hit 'levels'. In here, we're going to drag the 'preserve highlights' slider to 100. Notice how the blown out portions of the footage are now completely reintroduced? This is what I was talking about when mentioning that the information is still in there. Suddenly we're presented with a much better image, and one that lends itself to color correction far better than the previous one. This is one of the main reasons we're using Color Finesse Pro instead of AE's built-in tools.

With that taken care of, it's time to click the Luma WFM on the top left menu to enable the waveform. It looks fancy, but all it does is show you what colors are in what parts of the image. The lower you go, the closer it is to black, and vice versa. Now, if some colors are dipping over 100 or below -100, it means they'll be presented as super-whites or super-blacks. In short; they won't have any detail whatsoever, regardless of what monitor you watch the footage on. If your footage does dip above/below these, you're going to have to play with levels. Level Output/Input yield different results, but basically, the output limits the space while the input spreads the levels inside the allocated color/light space.

The highlight recovery slider can help you gain detail from the blown out whites in the EXR file. Give it a slide to max to see the difference. Also take note that the recovery will not work in all cases, and in some cases you'll do just as well with adjusting the levels output.

Okay, we're gonna adjust the levels output until our highlights/blacks aren't dipping outside the top, or the bottom. In my case I had to move the slider quite a long way, but here's the Luma waveform to better help you understand.

Notice how nothing is going above 100, and nothing is dipping below 0? This means we have no under- or overexposed areas in our footage. This essentially means it's broadcast safe, and that we have way more detail than we used to have before shooting HDR. Now, if you were to close Color Finesse Pro now and apply adjustments like curves, you'd have plenty to go on. Instead of doing that, we'll use the curves built in Color Finesse. Remember where we found the levels?... curves are in the same place.

The curves are pretty much exactly the same as in AE, but all 3 curves are in one window. You're able to set them automatically using the color samplers on the bottom. They are Black, Gray and White, and you can automatically set the curves correctly for your footage. Now, this has never helped me achieve the result I want, so for now, just close the interface, and let's delve into the simplified interface found in the plug-in's window right inside of AE.

The simplified window allows you to do a lot of the same things as the full interface, and is home to one of my favorite features; hue offset. With it, you can tint the entire image (master), and shadows, mid-tones and highlights individually. This means that if you want a classic, standard film-like filter, you can tint the shadows towards blue, and the highlights yellow.

Okay, we're just starting into the world of advanced color correction here so this is where we'll wrap up. If you're interested in doing some more advanced color correction, I highly suggest using Color Finesse Pro, bundled with AE.

Alright, that's it for now! I hope you learned something here, and I look forward to seeing your results, have fun!

Advertisement